A couple of months ago I found several websites selling electronics and photo gear for ridiculous low prices (which also ended my Google Adsense account). Prices were less than half the lowest legal price. Those websites were all scams, and were advertising through Google Ads. Trying to pry you from your hard earned money.
The last couple of days new scam-websites are showing up on the Internet. This time they are more advanced. They even have had VALID SSL certificates (issued from a GoDaddy CA), and still use Google Ads to target the victims.

e-holater SSL Certificate
Why are they scam-websites? Well, If it’s to good too be true, it probably is. And somehow you can’t pay by credit card from abroad (so no insurance).
Holater currently ONLY accepts international payment via Bank Wire Transfer.International credit cards and checks are not accepted.
So you’re left with money transfers, and we all know what the insurance is on that. None, nada, zip.
Note that the following websites are considered fraudulent by ME (and some of the victims of these websites). They will be portrayed like this unless several others prove me otherwise.
The following section gets updated when necessary. Websites found so far:
WARNING: When these websites are taken offline, a domain forwarder might be used to redirect you to other non-relevant websites. These sites may include offensive material. Please follow these links at your own risk. If you find such a link, report them in the comments, and I’ll remove the link.
Active Scammer Websites
PE Export / Export Panama / Hexport
URL: http://www.pe-export.com [mirror] (http://www.hexport.com [mirror])
Nick is back. ‘Nick Naylor’ was also the guy behind Panama Export (which seems offline). According to the whois, this domain is his new playground. Prices are low (as usual), and the layout etc. are exactly the same as his former website panama-export (contact page).When I write this (May 27, 2009), the website seems to be closed (or they’re filtering on my IP range again). They use a script to transfer me to Panama-Export.com (which forwards to an ads-page or something). My guess is that the website will be operational soon (and offline soon afterward).
UPDATE: Finally found the hexport.com screenshots I needed (ain’t the Internet a wonderfull thing). Anyway, what I already suspected is that hexport.com and pe-export.com are identical. Only the name is different.
The hexport.com screenshots: index (with video playing), products, Contact Us, FAQ, Guarantee, Testimonials The pe-export.com movie (Seems that ‘Nick’ is really going pro with the ads), As seen in…
Wootech Worldwide
URL: http://www.wootechworld.com / http://www.wootech-world.com [mirror]
A duplicate form the ‘older’ scam websites like e-holater etc. Prices are still too good to be true. Even the Nikon 14-24 lens is back with a new default product id (1090485). Just compare the Anepax and Wootech screenshots for the Nikon 14-24 lens.
According to the whois database information they ‘exist’ since May 5th, 2009. I have found the cheap GoDaddy SSL certificate (details).It seems that the website (hosted @ 194.165.4.81) won’t resolve @ my local ISP’s DNS server. I can access the website using TOR. I guess they’re blocking IP ranges now :). They’re gonna miss out on lot’s of XS4ALL customers this way :).
I ‘purchased’ a Nikon D300 at the website for a lousy €790. Just to get my hand on some additional screenshots and the banking information on these scammers.
Note that even though they have an SSL certificate, they don’t use it (yet). The entire account registration process and ordering is done without the use of SSL.
Good Electronics Shop
URL: http://www.goodelectronicsshop.com (mirror)
Chinese and prices too good to be true. Also, no Credit Card payments possible. Only Western Unions and Bank Transfers (contradicting payment info 1, 2). And we all know what happens with those….. Besides, what’s the difference between these [1, 2] items?No https connections during the (spam enabling bogus) registration and ordering process, and the domain name was registered on April 6, 2009.
digsaleltd@yahoo.com, digsaleltd@gmail.com, digsaleltd@hotmail.com
Any sales offerings with these e-mail addresses can be considered fraudulous.
Camera Giants Inc.
URL: http://www.cameragiantsinc.com (mirror)
Prices are too good to be true. Domain was registered 18-jan-2009, and the SSL certificate is one of the cheapest available from Comodo. No address available, only a PO Box in Emeryville.
Sonic Cameras
URL: http://soniccameras.com (mirror)
Shady
My Affordable Camera
URL: http://myaffordablecamera.com (mirror)
Resides in Russia, ultra low prices, and accepts Western Union only -> Scammer (in my opinion).
If you find other websites with the same characteristics, please report them in the comments, and I’ll add them to the list. Read more…
Recent Comments