Scammers Advertising Through Google Ads
May 31st, 2008 @ 18:00 by WillemAs you might have noticed, I run some ads on my website. Today I ran into an add for a new Nikon D300 with a price of 799 euro’s.

Note that at the moment a relatively cheap Nikon D300 costs at least 1400 euro’s, and if it sounds to good to be true, it probably is. Since I have no intention of buying a second D300, I decided to check the add out.
The add links to this page this page this page. A nice overview of the available Nikon D300.
A bit of research reveals the following about this site;
- Company is based in China, and uses MSN to communicate.
- The user comments on the D300 page aren’t very encouraging.
- Payments are only done through Western Union Money Transfers (or other services which guarantees you 100% that you’ll never be able to get your money back)
- Returning goods is done by sending them to another company (escgate.com; ‘Save Moeny Now!!
) - Every piece of hardware is almost half the regular price
- Oh and, there are real world experiences with escgate.com (dutch forum) -> Babelfish translation
Anyway, more than enough warnings if you ask me.
B.t.w. Western Union money transfers are a great way of sending people money in e.g. Africa. It’s not all that bad, just as long as you don’t expect anything in return
UPDATE: found another naughty website. Same products (same product database [1, 2, 3]), same conditions, but different layout and name.
The following list are webshops which are as ‘real’ as the first one I found.
- http://www.ecnnow.com [offline]
- http://www.shop-beijing.com [offline]
- http://www.leonoshop.com [offline]
- http://www.keyooshop.com
- < your website here??
>
UPDATE 2: Keyooshop added on Nov. 26 2008
